Oklahoma Marijuana Laws and Medical Card Rules (2026)
Medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma for licensed patients, and it has been since voters passed State Question 788 in 2018. Recreational marijuana is not legal: State Question 820 was rejected at the special election of March 7, 2023. Everything below is the state’s own rulebook — what you may hold, where you may grow, what you pay, and what the state does not publish at all.
Key points at a glance
SQ 820 rejected on March 7, 2023; more than 61% voted against.
Oklahoma State Senate, March 8, 2023 · source8 oz (226.4 g) may be kept at your residence.
OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · source7% SQ 788 excise tax, 4.5% state sales tax, plus city and county sales tax. A patient license removes none of them.
OAC 442:10-5-7 and Oklahoma Tax Commission · sourcePlus the marijuana harvested from those plants.
OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · sourceApplicants under 18 apply for a minor license instead.
OMMA, Patient Licenses · sourceSources disagree: OMMA’s general FAQ page still says one year. See the registry section.
OAC 442:10-2-5, checked August 24, 2026 · source$20 + $2.50 for a reduced fee if you qualify. The card fee is paid to the state, not to a clinic.
OMMA, Patient Licenses · sourceEvery figure on this page is dated and carries the state source it came from. Where Oklahoma publishes nothing, this page says so instead of filling the gap with a number from somewhere else.
On this page
- Legal status of marijuana in Oklahoma
- Who qualifies for a patient license
- Fees, terms and documents
- The physician recommendation
- What the license costs, end to end
- Possession limits and the amount checker
- Growing marijuana at home
- Taxes and what a patient license does not save
- Where you may and may not use
- Your rights, and where they stop
- Visitors and out-of-state cards
- Caregivers and minor patients
- What the state penalises
- City and county rules
- The Oklahoma program in numbers
- What changed in Oklahoma law
- Official Oklahoma resources
- Frequently asked questions
- Sources and dates
Is marijuana legal in Oklahoma?
Medical marijuana is legal for licensed patients. Recreational marijuana is not. Oklahoma has been a medical-only state since 2018 and remains one as of August 24, 2026, when the sources on this page were last checked.
State Question 788 created the program in 2018
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority states plainly that “Oklahoma voters authorized the state’s medical marijuana program in 2018 with State Question 788”. SQ 788 was a citizen initiative decided at the June 2018 primary ballot. It is the measure every other rule on this page hangs from: the patient license, the possession limits, the 7% excise tax that OMMA still calls “the SQ 788 excise tax”.
You will see vote totals for SQ 788 quoted on commercial sites. They are not on this page. The Oklahoma State Election Board’s official results portal did not serve its page to us on the check date, and a number that important should come from the body that certified it, not from a secondary retelling.
State Question 820 failed in 2023, so adult use stayed illegal
The one serious attempt to legalize marijuana for adults 21 and over was State Question 820, put to a special election on March 7, 2023. It was rejected. In the words of the Oklahoma State Senate’s press release the following day, “with more than 61% of voters rejecting the state question, not a single county voted in favor of the measure”.
The practical consequence matters more than the politics. If you buy, hold, or grow marijuana in Oklahoma without a state license, you are outside the program described on this page and none of its allowances apply to you. There is no “small personal amount” tier for unlicensed adults in the state’s published material.
OMMA is now its own agency
The program was originally run inside the Oklahoma State Department of Health. SB 1543 (2022) took effect on November 1, 2022 and separated the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority into a standalone state agency. That is why OMMA, and not the health department, writes the rules in Title 442 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code, issues your license, and answers the phone when something goes wrong with an application.
Federal law changed in April 2026 — and most pages have not caught up
For years the standard sentence on every cannabis page in America was “marijuana remains a Schedule I substance under federal law”. Since April 28, 2026 that sentence is wrong as a blanket statement, and repeating it will mislead you about your own position.
What actually happened. A final order of the Drug Enforcement Administration, published at 91 FR 22714 and effective April 28, 2026, placed two things in Schedule III: FDA-approved drug products containing Delta-9-THC that fall within the Controlled Substances Act definition of marijuana, and — the part that concerns you — “marijuana subject to a state medical marijuana license”. The order was signed on April 22, 2026 by the Acting Attorney General and published six days later.
What did not change. Unlicensed bulk marijuana, marijuana extract, and Delta-9-THC material used to manufacture FDA-approved drug products all remain in Schedule I. A separate DEA hearing on rescheduling marijuana more broadly opened on June 29, 2026 and had not produced an outcome by our check date.
Sources: DEA/DOJ final order, 91 FR 22714, govinfo.gov. Checked August 24, 2026.
Read the two paragraphs above together and the shape of it is clear: your state license is what puts your marijuana on the Schedule III side of that line. It is also why this page keeps returning to the same point — the license is a legal status, not a discount card.
Who qualifies for an Oklahoma patient license?
Oklahoma is unusual, and this is the single most misunderstood fact about the state’s program.
There is no list of qualifying conditions
Oklahoma publishes no list of qualifying medical conditions. We checked OMMA’s Patient Licenses page, its Application Help page and its FAQs on August 24, 2026: none of them names a condition. Eligibility rests on the judgment of the recommending physician, recorded on the Physician Recommendation Form.
This is a documented absence, not an oversight in our research, and it is worth stating in plain words because so many pages get it wrong. If a website shows you an “Oklahoma qualifying conditions list” with ten or twelve diagnoses on it, that list was borrowed from another state. Oklahoma’s approach is the opposite: the statute leaves the decision with a physician who is in good standing and who is willing to sign a form saying, in their clinical judgment, that you may benefit.
What follows from that, practically:
- You do not need to arrive with a diagnosis from a fixed menu.
- You do need a physician who will actually evaluate you and sign the form — and, since January 1, 2026, one who is registered with OMMA.
- No condition is automatically approved, because there is no automatic approval anywhere in the process.
Age
Adult licenses are for applicants aged 18 and over. Anyone under 18 applies for a minor patient license instead, which has its own rules on physician signatures and its own expiry — both covered in the caregivers and minors section below.
Residency
Patient licenses are for Oklahoma residents only, and OMMA requires proof of residency. Any one of the following is accepted: a driver’s license, a utility bill, a property deed, a rental agreement, or a tax return. If you live in another state, the patient license route is closed to you and the temporary out-of-state license is the one you want — see visitors and out-of-state cards.
Because Oklahoma names no conditions in law, there is no list to check yourself against: no diagnosis qualifies you here, and none rules you out. Our own clinical explainers on individual conditions live on the conditions index — guides, not a legal list. Whether your own case fits is the recommending physician’s call, and how that evaluation is arranged online is described on our Oklahoma medical card page.
What the state charges, and how long your license lasts
Oklahoma runs a state registry. A physician’s recommendation on its own is not a license and gives you nothing at a dispensary — the license issued by OMMA is what a dispensary checks and what law enforcement recognizes. Applications go through the OMMA MedPortal, and by statute OMMA processes a patient application within 14 business days of submission, plus one or two more business days to print an approved license.
Pick the situation that matches yours. Each panel shows the fee, the term and the documents for that route.
Oklahoma resident, standard patient license
- State application fee$100, plus a $4.30 credit card processing fee
- How you payVisa, MasterCard or Discover only
- Total to the state$104.30
- TermTwo years from the date of issuance
- ProcessingWithin 14 business days of submission, plus one or two business days to print
- DocumentsPhysician Recommendation Form signed within 30 days of submission, proof of Oklahoma residency, valid photo ID, digital photograph
OMMA, Patient Licenses, checked August 24, 2026 · oklahoma.gov/omma
Reduced fee
- State application fee$20, plus a $2.50 credit card processing fee
- Total to the state$22.50
- Who qualifiesProof of enrollment in Medicaid (SoonerSelect) or Medicare, or 100% disability status from the Veterans Administration
- TermTwo years, same as the standard license
- DocumentsEverything the standard route requires, plus proof of enrollment or of the disability rating
OMMA, Patient Licenses, checked August 24, 2026 · oklahoma.gov/omma
Visiting from another state
- State application fee$100, plus a $4.30 credit card processing fee. OMMA states there are no reduced fees for temporary patients
- TermValid up to 30 days, and it cannot outlast your home-state license
- What you must already holdA medical marijuana license issued by another state government — not a recommendation from a medical provider
- DocumentsYour out-of-state license, valid ID and a photo
OMMA Patient Licenses and FAQs; OAC 442:10-2-5, checked August 24, 2026 · OAC 442:10-2-5
Short-term patient license
- TermValid up to 60 days
- Who it is forApplicants whose recommending physician indicates a shorter period than the standard license
- FeeOMMA does not publish a separate short-term fee on its Patient Licenses page; treat the standard fee as the figure to plan around and confirm at application
OMMA, Patient Licenses, checked August 24, 2026 · oklahoma.gov/omma
Caregiver license
- State application feeNo application fee
- TermRuns to the expiration date of the patient’s license and may not extend beyond it; not more than two years
- Tied toOne specific licensed patient, who must be the person you are authorized to serve
OMMA Patient Licenses; OAC 442:10-2-5, checked August 24, 2026 · OAC 442:10-2-5
One year or two? The state’s own pages disagree
This is worth flagging rather than smoothing over. The administrative rule, OAC 442:10-2-5, says a patient license “shall be for a term of two (2) years from the date of issuance”, and OMMA’s Patient Licenses page says the same. OMMA’s general FAQ page, however, still says “licenses are valid for one year from the date issued”. We checked all three on August 24, 2026.
The rule and the dedicated patient page agree with each other, and the FAQ page looks stale. But we are not going to pretend the conflict is not there: the date printed on your own license is the only figure that governs you, and it is the one to plan renewal around.
Renewal
License holders may begin renewal 60 days before expiration, and the rule places the responsibility for renewing squarely on the holder: it is your job to renew with all applicable documentation before the expiration date, not OMMA’s job to chase you. The renewal fee equals the original license fee, so a standard patient pays the same $100 plus processing again. Our step-by-step walk-through of the process lives on the Oklahoma renewal page.
How long does the whole thing take?
Two clocks run, and they run one after the other. First the physician recommendation, which must be signed and dated within 30 days of your application being submitted — so a recommendation you obtained two months ago is already dead for this purpose. Then OMMA’s statutory window of 14 business days, plus one or two business days to print. Business licenses, by contrast, take OMMA 90 business days; if you have read that figure somewhere and worried, it does not apply to patients.
Veterans
Two things are true at once for veterans in Oklahoma, and they pull in opposite directions.
The first is a real advantage. A veteran with 100% disability status from the Veterans Administration qualifies for the reduced state fee: $20 plus a $2.50 processing fee instead of $100 plus $4.30. The license is identical — the same two-year term, the same possession allowances, the same home-grow right.
The second is a limit that catches people out, and it is about who may sign the form rather than about veterans as such. Oklahoma accepts a recommendation only from a physician in good standing with the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners, or the State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners — and, since January 1, 2026, only from one who has also completed the additional education and registered with OMMA. A physician who does not meet both conditions cannot legally issue an Oklahoma recommendation, whoever employs them. That is why the recommendation itself has to come from a state-licensed, OMMA-registered physician, while what your VA documentation does is unlock the reduced fee.
Our material written specifically for this group lives on the veterans page.
SoonerCare, Medicare and disability
The same reduced fee is available with proof of enrollment in Medicaid (SoonerSelect) or Medicare. That is the whole of what the state asks: enrollment documentation, submitted with the rest of your application. There is no separate application track, no additional form, and no difference in the license you receive — only in what you pay the state for it.
Be clear about what the reduction covers, though, because the gap between the two figures is often overstated. The reduced fee applies to the state’s application fee, and it does not touch the taxes you pay at a dispensary: as the tax section below sets out, Oklahoma gives patients no sales-tax or excise-tax relief at all, regardless of income, disability status or Medicare enrollment. Our guidance for patients on a tight budget is on the low-income page.
Reduced fee eligibility and documentation: OMMA, Patient Licenses, checked August 24, 2026 · oklahoma.gov/omma
Two payments, two places. The state fee you pay OMMA yourself through the MedPortal; the recommendation comes from a physician licensed in Oklahoma and registered with OMMA. Only the second part is ours.
See how an Oklahoma evaluation worksThe physician recommendation: who signs it and how long it lasts
Two documents get confused constantly, and the confusion costs people money. Here is the difference in one line each.
- Physician Recommendation Form — a form signed by a physician saying you may benefit from medical marijuana. It is an input to your application. It is not a license, and no dispensary will sell to you on the strength of it.
- Patient license — the credential OMMA issues after reviewing your application. This is what a dispensary scans, what a police officer recognizes, and what puts your marijuana on the state-licensed side of federal Schedule III.
Who may sign
The recommendation must come from a physician in good standing with one of three Oklahoma boards: the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners, or the State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.
Since January 1, 2026, the physician must also be registered with OMMA
SB 1066 (2025) added a requirement that changed the market overnight. Physicians must complete additional medical marijuana education and register with OMMA before providing medical marijuana recommendations, and the requirement took effect on January 1, 2026. OMMA put it bluntly in its own announcement: “if a physician is not registered with OMMA by Jan. 1, they will no longer be able to legally recommend medical marijuana”.
The transition worked like this. Recommendations issued on or before December 31, 2025 stayed valid for their full 30-day window. Any recommendation dated January 1, 2026 or later must come from an approved, registered physician. If you are being offered a recommendation today, the registration status of the physician signing it is not a detail — it is the difference between an application that proceeds and one that does not.
Three steps, in order
- Get evaluated. A physician who meets the board and registration requirements above evaluates you and, if they agree, signs the Physician Recommendation Form.
- Submit inside 30 days. The form must be signed and dated within 30 days of your application submission. Submit through the OMMA MedPortal with your proof of residency, ID and photo, and pay the state fee.
- Wait out the statutory window. OMMA has 14 business days to process, then one or two business days to print an approved license. You can check status through the MedPortal.
A recommendation is a clinical judgment, not a formality, and no physician can promise in advance that they will sign one. Any service that guarantees approval before an evaluation has taken place is describing something other than a medical consultation.
That holds for us too: our Oklahoma medical card page describes how the evaluation runs, not a result it can guarantee.
What an Oklahoma patient license costs, end to end
Two separate payments sit between you and a patient license, and they go to two different places. Mixing them up is what makes people think the state is charging them twice.
Paid to the state (OMMA)
- Standard application$100, plus a $4.30 credit card processing fee
- Reduced application$20, plus a $2.50 processing fee, with proof of Medicaid (SoonerSelect) or Medicare enrollment, or 100% VA disability status
- Temporary patient license$100, plus $4.30. OMMA states there are no reduced fees for temporary patients
- Caregiver licenseNo application fee
- RenewalThe renewal fee equals the original license fee
- How you payVisa, MasterCard or Discover only, inside the OMMA MedPortal
Paid to a clinic (the physician evaluation)
The Physician Recommendation Form is signed by a physician, not by the state, and the evaluation is a separate matter between you and the clinic you choose. Oklahoma does not set that price, and this page does not quote one: the figure belongs on our Oklahoma medical card page, where the current terms are kept.
What the state does fix is who may sign. Since January 1, 2026 the physician must be registered with OMMA in addition to holding a license with one of the three Oklahoma boards. A cheaper evaluation from an unregistered physician is not a saving — it produces a recommendation OMMA will not accept.
SB 1066 (2025) registration requirement, in force January 1, 2026 · OMMANothing else is owed to the state
Beyond the application fee and its card processing charge, OMMA does not bill a patient for the license itself: there is no card-printing charge, no annual maintenance charge and no renewal surcharge above the original fee. The state fee is paid at the moment you submit through the MedPortal, so nothing has gone to OMMA before a physician has signed your recommendation.
Two costs sit outside the license entirely and catch people out later. The first is tax at the register: a patient license removes none of the 7% SQ 788 excise tax, the 4.5% state sales tax or your city and county sales tax — the tax calculator above shows what that means on a real basket. The second is your own documentation: the state asks for proof of residency, an Oklahoma ID and a photo, and any fee your county or the Department of Public Safety charges for those documents is theirs, not OMMA’s.
A recommendation is a clinical judgment. No physician, ours included, can promise in advance that they will sign one, and any service that guarantees approval before an evaluation has happened is describing something other than a medical consultation.
Ready to speak to a physician?
If you have read this far and the license looks like the right step for you, our Oklahoma page explains how an online evaluation with a licensed, OMMA-registered physician works.
Oklahoma medical card
How much can a licensed patient have in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma sets separate allowances by product form and by where the marijuana is. They are generous by national standards, and they are cumulative: the rule says these limits add up, and a licensed patient or caregiver may possess at one time the totality of the items listed. So the 3 ounces on your person and the 8 ounces at home are not alternatives to each other.
| What | Allowance | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Marijuana on your person | Up to 3 oz (84.9 g) | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Marijuana at your residence | 8 oz (226.4 g) | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Concentrated marijuana | 1 oz (28.3 g) | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Edible marijuana | 72 oz (2,037.6 g) | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Topical marijuana | 72 oz, counted separately from edibles | OAC 442:10-2-8 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
| Mature plants | 6 mature plants, plus the marijuana harvested from them | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Seedlings | 6 seedling plants | OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 420 and OAC 442:10-2-8 · Patient Rights & Responsibilities |
| Do the limits add up? | Yes. “These possession limits are cumulative and a licensed patient or caregiver may possess at one time the totality of the items listed in this Section.” | OAC 442:10-2-8 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
Check your amounts
Drag each slider to what you actually have. Every line is checked against the figure printed in the table above — the same numbers, no others. Nothing you set leaves your browser.
There is no separate “per purchase” limit
You will see pages that split these figures into a “purchase limit” and a “possession limit”. Oklahoma’s official sources give one set of values and say they are cumulative. We looked for a separate per-transaction cap in OAC 442:10-2-8 and in OMMA’s patient material and did not find one; the claim appears only in commercial write-ups. This page therefore does not draw that distinction, because the state does not.
Every figure here belongs to a licensed patient. Oklahoma has no adult-use allowance underneath it, so the same amounts held without a current license fall under what the state penalises. The license itself starts with an evaluation — that part is on our Oklahoma medical card page.
Growing marijuana at home in Oklahoma
A patient license carries a home-grow right, and it comes with conditions that are easy to break by accident. Each line below is a rule, not advice.
- 6 mature plants and the marijuana harvested from them.
- 6 seedlings in addition to the mature plants.
- Only on your own property, or with the owner’s written permission. If you rent, that written permission from the landlord is required by rule — a verbal “fine by me” is not what OAC 442:10-2-9 asks for.
- Out of public reach and out of public sight. Marijuana grown by a licensed patient or caregiver may not be accessible to a member of the general public, and plants cannot be visible from adjacent streets to a person with normal vision. A fence or a screen is not decoration here; it is compliance.
- No solvent extraction at home. Extraction using butane, propane, CO2 or hazardous materials is prohibited on residential property. This is the rule that turns a hobby into a felony-adjacent problem faster than any other on the page.
All four allowances and the extraction ban: OMMA Patient Rights & Responsibilities and OAC 442:10-2-9, checked August 24, 2026 · OAC 442:10-2-9
What your city or county may not do about it
State law limits how far local government can reach into a patient’s grow. Municipal and county governing bodies may not enact medical marijuana guidelines that restrict or interfere with the rights of a licensed patient or caregiver to possess, purchase, cultivate or transport medical marijuana, and they may not require patients or caregivers to obtain permits or licenses in addition to the state-required ones.
That protection is about patients. Local zoning of cannabis businesses is an entirely separate matter and is very much allowed — see city and county rules for how that works and how to check your own address.
Home growing is the clearest thing the license buys in Oklahoma: without one there is no lawful way to keep six plants, however well they are fenced. What the evaluation for it involves is on our Oklahoma page.
See what the evaluation involvesTaxes: what you pay and what the card does not save you
Start with the finding, because it contradicts a lot of marketing: Oklahoma gives medical patients no sales-tax exemption and no excise-tax break. We looked for one at the Oklahoma Tax Commission and in OMMA’s own tax material on August 24, 2026 and found none. A patient license in Oklahoma buys you legal access, higher possession allowances and a home-grow right. It does not reduce your bill at the register by a cent.
That is a real difference between states, and it is why a savings figure copied from a California page has no meaning here.
| Tax | Rate and how it is charged | Source |
|---|---|---|
| SQ 788 excise tax | Seven percent (7%) of the gross dollar amount received by the dispensary, collected at the point of sale | OAC 442:10-5-7 · Oklahoma Administrative Code; confirmed on OMMA’s tax data page |
| State sales tax | 4.5% of gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property | Oklahoma Tax Commission · Sales & Use Tax |
| City and county sales tax | Varies. Local voters set their own county and municipal rates, and the rate at a dispensary is the same as at any other retailer in that area | OMMA · Licensing and Tax Data |
| Who remits the excise tax | The dispensary, no later than the 20th day of the month following the reporting month. Nothing for a patient to file | OAC 442:10-5-7 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
| Where the excise money goes | The Medical Marijuana Tax Fund, which funds substance abuse programs and common education administered by other state agencies. OMMA states it receives no funding from state and local sales tax revenue | OMMA · Licensing and Tax Data |
Work out a dispensary receipt
Drag the shelf price and your own local sales tax rate. The 7% and 4.5% below are the rates printed in the table above.
- SQ 788 excise tax, 7%
- State sales tax, 4.5%
- Local sales tax
- Total to pay
A patient license does not reduce any of these.
Where you may use, and where you may not
Treated like tobacco
Smoking and vaping medical marijuana products outdoors in public, or indoors at a workplace, is subject to the same state laws as smoking tobacco. Wherever a cigarette is banned, assume the same applies to you.
OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 427.8(L) · sourceNot across the state line
Patients are barred from transporting medical marijuana across state lines. Your Oklahoma license has no effect the moment you cross into another state, and the product itself becomes contraband in transit.
OMMA, Patient Rights & Responsibilities · sourceNot behind the wheel
Oklahoma’s Driving Under the Influence of Drugs per se law prohibits anyone with any amount of any Schedule I substance in their system from operating a motor vehicle, and the state’s highway safety page lists marijuana among those substances.
Oklahoma Highway Safety Office · sourceCarrying it in a car
Oklahoma does not publish rules on how marijuana must be carried inside a vehicle within the state — open container, boot, driver’s reach. We checked OMMA, the Highway Safety Office and the administrative code and found nothing on it, so this page states no rule rather than inventing one.
Documented absence, checked August 24, 2026The driving question deserves one honest sentence more. The state page states no exemption for licensed patients, but it does not state that one exists or that one does not. This page will not claim either way, and no one should treat a patient license as a defense to a DUI-D stop.
There is one relevant 2025 law, and it is genuinely unfinished business. SB 786 (2025), titled “Crimes and punishments; increasing certain fine; prohibiting certain consumption of medical marijuana”, became law without the Governor’s signature on May 14, 2025. The Legislature’s bill page publishes the title and the vote record but neither the effective date nor the substance of the prohibition, and the enrolled text was not readable from our environment. So the bill is named here by its title only. Anyone quoting a specific fine amount from SB 786 is quoting something they did not read on an official page.
Your rights as a licensed patient, and where they stop
Six areas, each answered the same way: what the state protects, what it does not, and where it publishes nothing at all. The third category is not a gap in our work — it is the honest state of the record, and knowing which questions Oklahoma has not answered is itself useful.
Employment
Employers cannot discipline you or refuse to hire you based solely on your status as a licensed patient. They also do not have to allow possession or use of medical marijuana products at work. Both halves of that sentence are the law.
OMMA, citing 63 O.S. § 427.8(H)-(I) · sourceFirearms permit
The State cannot deny a concealed carry permit to someone solely for being a licensed patient. That is the state side of the question, and it is the only side this page covers: federal firearms law is a separate matter that we could not verify against an official federal source on the check date, so nothing about it appears here.
63 O.S. § 427.8, as summarized by OMMA · sourceHousing and renting
One rule is confirmed: you may grow only on your own property or with the owner’s written permission. Beyond that, neither OMMA nor its rules describe a patient-tenant’s rights, and we are not going to fill the silence. Get the landlord’s permission in writing before a single seedling arrives.
OAC 442:10-2-9 · sourceCustody of children
Official Oklahoma sources do not address patient status and custody, and courts decide these matters case by case. We checked OMMA’s patient pages and FAQs and found nothing on it. If custody is live in your situation, this is a question for a family lawyer, not for a legal-information page.
Documented absence, checked August 24, 2026Travel
Patients are barred from transporting medical marijuana across state lines. That is the confirmed rule, and it is the whole of what the state publishes on travel. Airport and federal-land questions are outside what we could verify from an official source, so they are not answered here.
OMMA, Patient Rights & Responsibilities · sourceRegistry privacy
What is confirmed is the mechanism: OMMA’s public tool verifies a license number, not a person’s name, and it is how you check that a dispensary or a license is genuine. Beyond that mechanism, OMMA publishes no separate statement on registry confidentiality, and this page does not invent one.
OMMA MedPortal, Verify a license number · sourceAll six protections hang on a current license and end when it lapses. Renewal is the same evaluation as the first one, and the practical side of it is on the Oklahoma renewal page.
See how a patient license is obtainedDoes Oklahoma accept an out-of-state medical card?
Not directly, and the distinction matters at the dispensary counter. Oklahoma does not honour another state’s card on its own. What it offers instead is a temporary license issued by Oklahoma, which you apply for on the strength of the card you already hold. You must hold a medical marijuana license issued by another state government — a recommendation from a medical provider is not enough.
| Question | Oklahoma resident | Visiting patient |
|---|---|---|
| What you need first | A Physician Recommendation Form, plus proof of Oklahoma residency | A medical marijuana license issued by another state government, plus valid ID and a photo |
| Fee | $100 + $4.30 processing, or $20 + $2.50 reduced | $100 + $4.30 processing. OMMA states there are no reduced fees for temporary patients |
| Term | Two years from issuance | Up to 30 days, and never beyond the expiry of your home-state license |
| Taking product home | Barred from transporting across state lines | Barred from transporting across state lines — the same rule, and it applies on the way out |
Sources: OMMA Patient Licenses and FAQs; OAC 442:10-2-5, which sets the temporary license term at thirty days from issuance · OAC 442:10-2-5
Note the asymmetry in that last row, because it catches visitors out. Nothing about the temporary license gives you a legal way to carry your purchase back over the state line. Whatever you buy in Oklahoma stays in Oklahoma, and a 60-day short-term license exists for people who need a longer window inside the state, not a wider geography.
There is also a 60-day short-term route, described in the fee panels above. It is an Oklahoma patient license with a shorter term, not a visitor product.
Moving to Oklahoma rather than visiting changes the answer entirely: residency opens the full patient license, with the two-year term and the home-grow right described above. The evaluation it starts with is on our Oklahoma medical card page.
Caregivers and patients under 18
A caregiver license lets one person handle medical marijuana on behalf of one specific licensed patient. Oklahoma charges nothing for it, and it is bound tightly to the patient it serves.
- No application fee. The caregiver license itself costs nothing at the state.
- Term follows the patient. A caregiver license may not extend beyond the expiration date of the underlying patient license, and so cannot exceed two years.
- One patient, one direction. A licensed caregiver may transfer marijuana only to the patient they are authorized to serve. That is the same prohibition on transfer that binds patients, with a single narrow exception written into it.
Minor patients
A minor license is not simply an adult license with a younger applicant. Three rules set it apart.
- Two physician signatures. The Minor Patient Physician Recommendation Form needs signatures from two physicians. They must be within 30 days of each other, and the second signature must be dated within 30 days of the application being submitted.
- Term. Two years, or until 30 days after the patient turns 18, whichever comes first.
- Smoking and vaporising. OMMA states that minors cannot smoke or vaporise medical marijuana unless both recommending physicians agree it is medically necessary, and that licensed minors cannot enter dispensaries without a parent or legal guardian.
Sources: OMMA Patient Licenses and FAQs; OAC 442:10-2-5 and 442:10-2-9, checked August 24, 2026.
For clarity about our own scope: Dr. Weedy currently doesn’t offer medical marijuana evaluation services for minors with caregivers. This section is here as a statement of Oklahoma law, not as an offer.
What the state penalises
Two prohibitions catch ordinary, well-meaning patients more often than anything else on this page, and both are about giving marijuana to another person.
- Sharing is prohibited. Licensed patients are prohibited from sharing legally purchased medical marijuana and products with any other individual, whether that person is licensed or not. There is no “but they have a card too” exception.
- Selling or transferring is prohibited. A licensed patient shall not sell or otherwise transfer any medical marijuana or medical marijuana products to another individual or entity.
| Offense | Penalty | Source |
|---|---|---|
| First offense | $400 fine | OAC 442:10-2-9 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
| Second offense | $1,000 fine, and license revocation where the conduct was wilful or grossly negligent | OAC 442:10-2-9 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
| Small quantities | The rule treats sharing under 3 grams without compensation as an administrative fine rather than a criminal referral | OAC 442:10-2-9 · Oklahoma Administrative Code |
You will find specific criminal fines and jail terms for unlicensed possession quoted all over the internet. They are not on this page. No official Oklahoma source publishes them in a form we could open on the check date, and the text of the relevant statutes was unreachable from our environment. Printing a criminal penalty we could not verify next to figures we did verify would make the unverified one look just as solid, and that is exactly how legal-information pages mislead people.
Do city and county rules change anything?
For patients, largely no. For businesses, very much yes. Keeping those two apart explains almost every confusing thing you will read about local cannabis rules in Oklahoma.
What local government may not do to you
Municipal and county governing bodies may not enact medical marijuana guidelines that restrict or interfere with the rights of a licensed patient or caregiver to possess, purchase, cultivate or transport medical marijuana. They also may not require patients or caregivers to obtain permits or licenses in addition to the state-required licenses. If a city clerk tells you that you need a local cannabis permit as a patient, that is the rule to point at.
How local rules reach a dispensary instead
Local control arrives through the business side. A commercial applicant must supply a Certificate of Compliance for their business location, issued by the municipality or county. That certificate is the mechanism by which local zoning binds a dispensary, and it is why the shop that opened two streets away from you may be legal while a similar shop across the city line is not. There is also a statewide floor: a dispensary’s nearest perimeter wall may not sit within 1,000 feet of the property line of any public or private school.
How to check your own place, in three steps
- Confirm the dispensary itself is real: run its license number through OMMA’s verification tool before you rely on anything it tells you.
- Call your city planning or zoning office, or your county equivalent, and ask about the Certificate of Compliance status for the address you care about. That is the office that issues it.
- Ask about local sales tax at the same time. Your combined rate is set by local voters and is what fills in the third line of the tax calculator above.
We deliberately do not print a table of specific city fees and county rules here. Oklahoma keeps no single registry of local requirements, and a fee copied from one county’s page and presented as typical is how a page ends up quoting a figure that is five times wrong. The state rule plus your own city hall is the reliable route.
Sources: OMMA Dispensary License page and Patient Rights & Responsibilities, checked August 24, 2026 · Dispensary License
The Oklahoma program in numbers
OMMA publishes licensing and tax figures monthly. These are its latest, and each one carries the date it was taken.
Why there are no patient testimonials on this page
Three hundred thousand Oklahomans hold a license, and a page like this could easily be padded with quotes about how easy it all was. We have not published any here, because we hold no consented patient statement about Oklahoma law that we could reproduce word for word, and a testimonial written to fill a gap is not evidence — it is decoration. The same reasoning keeps a star rating off this page: a rating a company awards itself proves nothing about a statute.
What can be checked is above and below: every figure on this page carries the agency that published it and the date it was taken, and the sources section lists each one in full. Where a patient’s own experience matters — how an evaluation runs, what people say about it — that belongs on the Oklahoma medical card page, next to the service being described.
One figure you will not find here is total legal cannabis sales in dollars. OMMA publishes the tax it collects, not industry revenue, and back-calculating sales from a 7% excise take would produce our estimate rather than the agency’s fact. The same goes for “share of the population” claims: OMMA gives a snapshot on a date and a monthly archive, not a population ratio.
What changed in Oklahoma law recently
Newest first. Where the Legislature’s own page does not print an effective date, this page gives the date of signature or passage and says nothing more — an invented effective date is precisely the error this section exists to prevent.
-
Approved May 5, 2026
HB 3143 — business license moratorium dates modified
“Medical marijuana; modifying dates for moratorium; providing restrictions when transferring ownership of medical marijuana business.” Passed the House 82–8 on February 25, 2026 and the Senate 39–7 on April 29, 2026. This affects businesses, not patients. The Legislature’s page does not print an effective date.
-
Approved April 17, 2026
HB 3127 — employer policy for applicants and employees
“Medical marijuana; policy for applicants and employees; exceptions.” Approved by the Governor on April 17, 2026 after passing the House 68–27 on 24 March and the Senate 41–5 on 15 April. Authors: Rep. Kevin West and Sen. Jerry Alvord. Read it alongside the employment protections in the rights section above; the Legislature’s page does not print an effective date, so none is stated here.
-
Effective January 1, 2026
SB 1066 — physicians must register with OMMA
The change that most directly touches new patients. Physicians must complete additional medical marijuana education and register with OMMA before providing recommendations. OMMA’s notice was unambiguous: a physician not registered by 1 January could no longer legally recommend medical marijuana. Recommendations dated January 1, 2026 or later must come from a registered physician.
-
Became law May 25, 2025
HB 2807 — transporter licenses and warehouses
“Medical marijuana; medical marijuana transporter license … allowing certain licensees to maintain and operate warehouses.” Became law without the Governor’s signature. Only the title and the action dates are confirmed here; the widely repeated claim that this bill bans weighing and packaging flower at the point of sale was not confirmed in any official source, so it is not stated as fact on this page.
-
Became law May 14, 2025
SB 786 — consumption of medical marijuana and an increased fine
“Crimes and punishments; increasing certain fine; prohibiting certain consumption of medical marijuana.” Passed the Senate 40–5 on March 17, 2025 and the House 74–12 on May 6, 2025; became law without the Governor’s signature. The bill page prints neither the effective date nor the substance of the prohibition, so this page names the bill and stops there.
-
Since August 26, 2022, now extended to August 1, 2028
Moratorium on new business licenses
A moratorium on new dispensary, grower and processor licenses began on August 26, 2022 and has been extended to August 1, 2028, unless OMMA’s Executive Director determines that all pending licensing reviews, inspections or investigations are complete. HB 3143 (2026) modified the moratorium dates; the 2028 extension is what OMMA publishes today. Patients are unaffected — this is why the dispensary count above is not growing.
Official Oklahoma resources
Everything below is a state resource. Bookmark the first two: between them they cover applying, renewing, and checking that a license or a dispensary is genuine.
-
OMMA MedPortal — apply and manage your license
Serves patients and caregivers, businesses and credentialed employees. This is also where you check application status. medportal.omma.ok.gov
-
OMMA Verify — check a license number
The official tool for confirming that a license or a licensed business is real. medportal.omma.ok.gov/s/verify-license-number
-
OMMA call center
(405) 522-6662, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on weekdays. The same page carries a complaint form for complaints about OMMA-licensed businesses. Contact OMMA
-
OMMA mailing address
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, PO Box 262266, Oklahoma City, OK 73126-2266. About OMMA
-
Licensing and Tax Data
OMMA’s monthly figures for licenses issued and tax collected — the source of every number in the section above. oklahoma.gov/omma
-
Metrc — the state seed-to-sale tracking system
Support on 877-566-6506 or [email protected]. OMMA’s public data dashboard draws on Metrc data. OMMA contact page
-
Oklahoma Tax Commission — sales and use tax
The source for the 4.5% state rate and the rule that county and municipal taxes apply on top of it. oklahoma.gov/tax
For businesses
-
Commercial license term
Business licenses are valid for one year unless revoked by OMMA. Do not confuse this with the two-year patient license. OMMA, Dispensary License
-
Commercial license fee
10% of anticipated combined annual state sales and excise taxes, with a $2,500 minimum and a $10,000 maximum, plus a 2.25% credit card processing fee. OMMA processes commercial applications in 90 business days. OMMA, Dispensary License
Frequently asked questions
Is medical marijuana legal in Oklahoma?
Yes, for licensed patients. Oklahoma voters authorized the state’s medical marijuana program in 2018 with State Question 788, and the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority has run it since. Without a state-issued license, none of the allowances on this page apply to you.
Is recreational marijuana legal in Oklahoma?
No. State Question 820 would have legalized marijuana for adults 21 and over, and it was rejected at the special election of March 7, 2023. According to the Oklahoma State Senate, more than 61% of voters rejected it and not a single county voted in favor.
What conditions qualify for a medical card in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma publishes no list of qualifying conditions. Eligibility rests on the recommending physician’s judgment, recorded on the Physician Recommendation Form. We verified this across OMMA’s Patient Licenses, Application Help and FAQ pages on August 24, 2026. Any “Oklahoma qualifying conditions list” you find elsewhere has been borrowed from another state.
How much does an Oklahoma medical marijuana card cost?
The state application fee is $100 plus a $4.30 credit card processing fee, payable by Visa, MasterCard or Discover only. That is the fee OMMA charges; the physician evaluation is a separate matter between you and the clinic you choose.
Can I get a reduced fee?
Yes, if you can show enrollment in Medicaid (SoonerSelect) or Medicare, or 100% disability status from the Veterans Administration. The reduced fee is $20 plus a $2.50 processing fee. The license you receive is exactly the same license.
How long is an Oklahoma patient license valid?
Two years from the date of issuance, according to OAC 442:10-2-5 and OMMA’s Patient Licenses page. OMMA’s general FAQ page still says one year, which appears to be stale; we checked all three on August 24, 2026. The date printed on your own license governs you.
How long does OMMA take to approve an application?
Within 14 business days of the date you submit it. For approved applications, OMMA states it takes one or two more business days to print the license. The 90-business-day figure you may have seen applies to commercial licenses, not to patients.
How much marijuana can I legally have?
Up to 3 oz (84.9 g) on your person, 8 oz (226.4 g) at your residence, 1 oz (28.3 g) of concentrate, 72 oz of edibles and 72 oz of topicals, plus 6 mature plants and 6 seedlings with their harvest. The rule states these limits are cumulative — they add up rather than replacing one another. The amount checker above compares your own figures against each of them.
Is there a separate limit on a single dispensary purchase?
Not one that Oklahoma publishes. Official sources give a single set of values and describe them as cumulative possession limits. The idea of a distinct per-transaction cap appears only in commercial write-ups, so this page does not repeat it.
Can I grow marijuana at home?
Yes: 6 mature plants and 6 seedlings, on your own property or with the owner’s written permission. The plants must not be accessible to the general public and must not be visible from adjacent streets. Extraction with butane, propane, CO2 or hazardous materials is prohibited on residential property.
Do patients pay less tax with a card?
No. Oklahoma publishes no tax break for patients. You pay a 7% SQ 788 excise tax, the 4.5% state sales tax, and whatever your city and county levy. A patient license buys legal access, larger possession allowances and a home-grow right — not tax relief. If you have read about a 15–25% saving, that is another state’s rule.
Does Oklahoma accept a medical card from another state?
Not on its own. You apply for an Oklahoma-issued temporary patient license on the strength of a license issued by another state government — not a provider’s recommendation. It costs $100 plus $4.30 processing, with no reduced rate, and is valid up to 30 days without outlasting your home-state license.
Can I take my medicine home to another state?
No. Patients are barred from transporting medical marijuana across state lines, and that applies to residents and temporary license holders alike.
Can my employer fire me for being a licensed patient?
Employers cannot discipline you or refuse to hire you based solely on your status as a licensed patient. They are not, however, required to allow possession or use of medical marijuana products at work. HB 3127 (2026), approved on April 17, 2026, amends the rules on employer policies for applicants and employees; the Legislature’s page does not print an effective date.
Can I share with a friend who also holds a card?
No. Licensed patients are prohibited from sharing legally purchased medical marijuana with any other individual, licensed or not, and from selling or otherwise transferring it. OMMA’s administrative fines are $400 for a first offense and $1,000 with revocation for a second where the conduct was wilful or grossly negligent.
When can I start renewing?
Sixty days before expiration. The rule puts the responsibility on you: renew, with all applicable documentation, before the expiration date. The renewal fee equals the original license fee. Our Oklahoma renewal guide walks through it.
Can someone under 18 get a license?
Yes, through a minor patient license, which requires two physician signatures within 30 days of each other, with the second dated within 30 days of submission. It runs two years, or until 30 days after the patient turns 18, whichever is earlier. Minors cannot smoke or vaporise unless both recommending physicians agree it is medically necessary, and cannot enter a dispensary without a parent or legal guardian.
Does a card affect my concealed carry permit?
Under state law, the State cannot deny a concealed carry permit to someone solely for being a licensed patient. That is the state side of the question. Federal firearms law is separate and was not verified against an official federal source for this page, so nothing about it is claimed here either way.
Does my doctor need to be registered with OMMA?
Yes, since January 1, 2026. Under SB 1066 (2025), physicians must complete additional medical marijuana education and register with OMMA before providing recommendations. Any recommendation dated January 1, 2026 or later must come from an approved, registered physician who is also in good standing with the State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision, the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners, or the State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.
If the license is your next step
Our Oklahoma page explains how an online evaluation with a licensed, OMMA-registered physician works, at your own pace.
Oklahoma medical cardSources and dates
Every figure on this page came from one of the sources below and was checked on August 24, 2026 unless a different date is given.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Patient Licenses — fees, terms, processing time, residency, minors, caregivers, out-of-state licenses. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Patient Rights & Responsibilities — possession limits, home grow, employment, concealed carry, public use, interstate transport. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, FAQs — renewal window, out-of-state eligibility, minor physician signatures. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Application Help — verified absence of a qualifying conditions list. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, About OMMA — SQ 788, SB 1543 (2022), mailing address. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Licensing and Tax Data — license counts as of August 3, 2026, excise and sales tax collected January–July 2026, local tax variation, tax fund destination. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Dispensary License — business license term and fee, school setback, Certificate of Compliance, moratorium to August 1, 2028. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, Contact Us — call center, Metrc support. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority, MedPortal — application portal and license verification tool. oklahoma.gov/omma. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority news release, December 18, 2025 — SB 1066 physician registration and which boards may sign. oklahoma.gov/omma.
- Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority news release, 2026 — reminder that the physician recommendation requirements are in effect. oklahoma.gov/omma.
- Oklahoma Administrative Code 442:10-2-5 — two-year patient license term, 30-day temporary license, caregiver license expiry, renewal responsibility. Cornell Legal Information Institute. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Administrative Code 442:10-2-8 — possession limits, topicals, cumulative rule. Cornell Legal Information Institute. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Administrative Code 442:10-2-9 — transfer prohibition, administrative fines, home grow location, screening, extraction ban. Cornell Legal Information Institute. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Administrative Code 442:10-5-7 — 7% excise tax and the dispensary’s remittance deadline. Cornell Legal Information Institute. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Tax Commission, Sales & Use Tax — the 4.5% state rate and the rule that county and municipal taxes apply on top. oklahoma.gov/tax. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma Highway Safety Office, drug-impaired driving — the DUI-D per se rule. oklahoma.gov/highwaysafety. Checked August 24, 2026.
- Oklahoma State Senate, press release of March 8, 2023 — the defeat of State Question 820. oksenate.gov.
- Drug Enforcement Administration / U.S. Department of Justice, final order, 91 FR 22714, published and effective April 28, 2026 — Schedule III placement of state-licensed medical marijuana. govinfo.gov.
- Oklahoma Legislature, HB 3127 (2026 session) — employer policy for applicants and employees, approved April 17, 2026. oklegislature.gov.
- Oklahoma Legislature, HB 3143 (2026 session) — moratorium dates and ownership transfer restrictions, approved May 5, 2026. oklegislature.gov.
- Oklahoma Legislature, HB 2807 (2025 session) — transporter licenses and warehouses, became law May 25, 2025. oklegislature.gov.
- Oklahoma Legislature, SB 786 (2025 session) — increased fine and consumption prohibition, became law May 14, 2025. oklegislature.gov.
What we could not verify, and left out
Being explicit about the gaps is part of the record. The full text of the state statutes — 63 O.S. §§ 420, 425 and 427.8, and 47 O.S. § 11-902 — could not be opened from our environment, because the Oklahoma State Courts Network refused the connection and the Legislature publishes Title 63 only as a large PDF. Those norms are confirmed through OMMA’s own pages and the administrative code, so they are described here but never placed in quotation marks as statutory text. Certified vote counts for SQ 788 and SQ 820, total legal sales in dollars, effective dates for HB 3127, HB 3143 and SB 786, criminal penalties for unlicensed possession, in-vehicle transport rules, airport and federal-land rules, and federal firearms rules are all absent from this page for the same reason: no official source we could open publishes them.
This page is a reference guide to Oklahoma state law. It is not legal advice and it is not medical advice. Rules and figures change; the date each source was checked is given above, and the state pages linked here are always the authority over anything written on this one.














