Our 420 Evaluation package includes:
- Recommendation authorized by a Pennsylvania licensed doctors
- 12-month medical marijuana recommendation
- Privacy of your personal data through our system compliant with HIPAA
Receiving a recommendation for the activation of medical cannabis card in Pennsylvania via “Dr. Weedy” includes the following steps:
Despite the fact that “Dr.Weedy” assumes the task of confirming the diagnosis and appropriate paperwork, there are many steps that you, as a patient or caregiver, must carry out on your own:
The medical cannabis card of Pennsylvania state gives you the right to buy legally, store, and consume cannabis in all available forms to relieve the course of many diseases. The main advantage of owning MMJ card is continuous access to medical weed, many sorts of which are represented in the windows of dispensaries. Possibility to smoke, steam, or consume cannabis without any legal barriers significantly improves the patient’s life quality. The plant helps to cope with severe pain, depression, and many other common pathologies. Therefore, for many state residents, the possibility to become a member of the MMJ Pennsylvania program is a real chance for recovery (or, at least, alleviation of the suffering).
According to the procedure, before obtaining the MMJ Pennsylvania card, the patient or caregiver must confirm his/her pathology that gives the right for medical weed from a PDH authorized healthcare professional. The list of diseases classified as adequate for the prescription of medical cannabis includes:
If the qualified doctor, participating in the medical cannabis program of Pennsylvania, has diagnosed you with one of the above pathologies, you have the right to obtain a medical cannabis patient card.
Medical marijuana in the state is legalized and available for patients with severe pathologies who participate in the medical cannabis program and have a corresponding license. The patient card gives you the right to legally purchase cannabis in specialized dispensaries, as well as to store and use it, without breaking other laws and rights of other citizens. As for recreational marijuana, it is illegal within the state; however, it is decriminalized in such municipalities as Philadelphia, Harrisburg, Pittsburgh, State College, Lancaster, Stilton, Allentown, Bettelheim, York, and Erie.
Details on the signing of the law and its approval by the Department In the spring of 2016, Pennsylvania General Assembly legalized medical cannabis in the state by legislatively regulating the acquisition, storage, and use of a medicinal plant. The law signed by Governor Tom Woolf provides patients with serious illnesses with access to medical marijuana. To qualify for the medical cannabis program, first, you need to register in the registry of patients or caregivers. You can do this on the official website of the state at the following link: medicalmarijuana.pa.gov.
Under Pennsylvania law, medical cannabis patient has the right to store 30-day stock of cannabis he/she needs to control the pathological condition. Therefore, many people think about growing plants at home. Unfortunately, to date, the home cultivation of cannabis in Pennsylvania is not permitted by law. However, growing up to 10 plants at home doesn’t entail criminal liability. At the same time, exceeding this limit is punishable with a fine or even with imprisonment from 1 to 3 years (depending on the size of the plantation).
The members of the medical cannabis program in Pennsylvania can legally buy medical cannabis in the specialized dispensaries. The state is evenly and densely covered by the numerous licensed points of sale of cannabis. At the end of 2019, 72 active dispensaries functioned in Pennsylvania, which served about 150 000 certified patients. At that, the total sales for 2019 were more than half a billion dollars. You can find the dispensary, closest to your home or office, on the map.
In Pennsylvania, persons who meet the following criteria have the right to qualify for the medical cannabis program:
Patients who participate in the MMJ program are automatically exempted from criminal liability for the storage and use of cannabis. However, it is worth remembering that federal legislation classifies marijuana as an illegal drug. Therefore, driving in a state of cannabinoid intoxication or use of cannabis in public places will be punished with a fine, and in some cases- the restriction of freedom. Dispensaries in Pennsylvania have the right to sell patients cannabis in the amount not exceeding the 30-day supply of medication. Exceeding the 30-day limit falls under the article of Pennsylvania on the storage of drugs. Storage and transportation of cannabis in the volume exceeding the 30-day norm entail criminal prosecution. Therefore, it is not recommended to violate a prescribed norm.
Only the doctors who are registered and approved as a part of the MMJ program in Pennsylvania can prescribe medical cannabis. Department of Health is responsible for the certification of doctors. The law on medical marijuana provides for a number of rules, and the Department oversees its compliance by the doctors. Particularly, there is an obligation of non-disclosure of certificate information issued by the doctor to cannabis patients. In turn, such information as a doctor’s office address, his/her name, and medical credentials are considered as open information. To get the right to prescribe cannabis, the doctor must file an appropriate application with the Pennsylvania Department of Health and take a 4-hour course on the use of medical cannabis. At the same time, the doctor has the right to prescribe cannabis only if he/she has a valid medical license. Note that the doctor is entitled to not only issue licenses but also to inform the Department of Health about changes in the status of patients certified by it on the program “MMJ Pennsylvania”. These can be an improvement of the patient’s state, or vice versa, a lack of pronounced therapeutic effect. At the same time, the doctor has no right to approve the patient’s status for money or for different reasons not related to the real physical or mental condition of the patient.
Patients who can’t buy or grow cannabis on their own have the right to appoint 2 caregivers. This can be a person over the age of 21. Meanwhile, a caregiver can’t look after more than 5 patients. To register as a caregiver, you have to:
If the patient and caregiver cooperate for the first time, it is necessary to perform the whole process from the beginning to the end. In case of the extension of the status of relations “caregiver-patient”, the procedure is simplified due to the lack of need to pass the criminal background check.
The validity period of the cannabis patient card participating in medical cannabis program is 1 year. 60 days before the expiration of the card, you will receive an email notification of the need to extend the card for an easy purchase of weed through the specialized dispensaries. The extension is carried out according to the procedure, similar to the opening of a new card. Using the service “Dr.Weedy”, you can do this quickly and inexpensively.