Michigan medical marijuana card FAQ

What documents do I need to provide for the application?

When applying for a medical marijuana card in Michigan, you need to submit a proof of Michigan residency and a physician certification from a registered Michigan doctor. Also, the required $40 application fee by check or money order. If you are designating a caregiver, include proof of the caregiver’s identity. Register through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Portal (LARA).

Which category of patients needs a caregiver?

A qualifying patient under 18 years needs a caregiver. Disabled persons or individuals who are housebound are also allowed to appoint a caregiver. A caregiver is an individual who is 21 years of age or older and is appointed to purchase, transport, possess, administer and cultivate medical marijuana on behalf of a MMJ cardholder.

Is my personal information kept confidential during the application process?

Your medical marijuana records in Michigan are private and kept confidential under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). There are a few exceptions, as it can be disclosed to employers and law enforcement agencies for national priority purposes.

How long does it take to get approved for a medical marijuana card in Michigan?

It takes 15 business days for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program to approve or deny an application and another 5 business days to issue the MMJ card or denial letter. Also, allow around 7-10 business days for the United States Postal Service to deliver the registry identification card or denial letter. Therefore, it takes up to 30 business days to receive a medical marijuana card in Michigan.

Can I buy medical marijuana with insurance in Michigan?

Most health insurance providers don’t cover medical cannabis in Michigan. Consider contacting your insurance company to learn more.

Who can prescribe medical marijuana in Michigan?

Only a certified physician in Michigan can prescribe medical marijuana. The physician must be a medical doctor or a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery. They must also have a valid license to practice in Michigan. Michigan also passed HB 4745, allowing patients to make an appointment with physicians online.

Where can I buy medical marijuana in Michigan?

You can buy medical marijuana at state-licensed provisioning centers or dispensaries. A caregiver can also purchase on your behalf. It’s essential to purchase from a reliable and licensed source to avoid trouble with the law. Home delivery of medical cannabis is also allowed in Michigan.

What do I need when visiting a medical marijuana dispensary in Michigan?

When visiting a medical marijuana dispensary in Michigan, you must present the Michigan Medical Marijuana ID card. If you have received an approval email but are yet to receive the ID card, the email is valid to buy medical marijuana products for 15 days.

How can I register with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP)?

To register with the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program, schedule an appointment with a licensed physician to check if you have the qualifying medical conditions. Then, obtain a certification from the physician. After receiving your certification, register with the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Portal (LARA) and complete the application. You’ll need to provide a proof of Michigan residency, the physician-issued certification and a $40 application fee. If you need a caregiver, you can appoint one during this process. Once the application is approved, you can receive your card.

Can I get a medical marijuana card online in Michigan?

Yes, you can apply for a medical marijuana card online. A qualifying medical cannabis patient can obtain certification from a physician via telehealth then apply for a card online using the Michigan LARA portal.

Do I need to be a Michigan resident to get a medical marijuana card?

Yes, you need to be a Michigan resident and provide a document as evidence of residency to get a medical marijuana card.

How can I renew my medical marijuana card in Michigan?

First, receive a new physician certification from an approved healthcare provider. Then, log into your account at the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Portal (LARA) and submit a renewal application. Pay the renewal fee of $40. Wait for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program to approve your application, which can take 2 to 4 weeks. For detailed instructions, refer to the Cannabis Regulatory Agency: https://www.michigan.gov/cra/faq/program-list/renewal-questions/how-do-i-renew-my-registry-identification-card

How long is my medical marijuana card valid?

Your Michigan medical marijuana card is valid for two years and can be renewed 90 days before it expires. A caregiver’s MMMP card expires the same day as the patient.

How long does it take to renew my medical marijuana card?

It takes two to four weeks to renew your medical marijuana card. It’s advisable to start the renewal process earlier to avoid an expired MMMP card.

Can I grow my own cannabis in Michigan?

You can grow marijuana in your home under Section 4 of the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act.  Medical marijuana patients can grow up to 12 cannabis plants at home while caregivers can grow 12 plants per patient under their care. The plants must be grown indoors and in a secured facility, and must not be visible to the public.

Do I need a medical card to buy products at a dispensary in Michigan?

If you are at least 21 years old, you can buy marijuana at a recreational dispensary. But, you need a medical card to buy cannabis products at a medical dispensary in Michigan.

Do I pay taxes when buying cannabis in Michigan?

When buying recreational marijuana, you pay a 6% sales tax and an excise tax of 10%. For medical marijuana patients, cannabis is cheaper and only subject to a 6% sales tax.

Can I smoke weed in Michigan?

If you are 21 years or older, you can smoke weed in Michigan. Individuals can purchase up to 2.5 ounces but must not have over 15 grams of concentrate. You can also cultivate marijuana flowers to smoke in a secured location.

Is using medical marijuana a reason for labor discrimination?

Under the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act, employers are not required to accommodate consumption in the workplace or employees working under the influence. They can also impose drug testing policies. Employers can refuse to hire, discipline or terminate a person who tests positive for marijuana, even if it’s for medical use.

Do you lose your gun rights if you have a medical card in Michigan?

Yes, you lose your gun rights because a medical marijuana patient in Michigan cannot possess or use a firearm. Doing so puts you in violation of federal law.

What are the restricted places for possession and use of marijuana in Michigan?

Marijuana possession and use is not allowed in school or in public. Also, if the property owner forbids it, then the patient is not allowed to use marijuana. Operating machinery or vehicles under the influence of marijuana is not allowed

Still have questions?
Fill out the form or reach out to us via email
scroll to top

We are using cookies to improve our services and offer you the best possible MMJ evaluation experience. You can find out more about which cookies we are using in our Privacy Policy.

Close ✖