Data as of October 2026
Medical Card Access Index 2027
How hard is it to get a medical marijuana card where you live? We scored 40 states on what the state charges, how long the card takes, which conditions qualify and whether the first doctor visit can happen by video. Every number links to the state rule or agency page it came from. The other 10 states rank below them, grouped by what their law allows.
What stands out
All states, ranked by access
Higher score means easier and cheaper to get a card. Tap a column to sort. "Source" opens the state rule behind the number.
| Qualifying conditions | First visit by video | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New York | $0 source | No state wait source | 2 yrs source | Doctor decides source | Allowed source | |
| 1 | Virginia | $0 source | No state wait source | 1 yr source | Doctor decides source | Allowed source | |
| 3 | California The state card is optional: a doctor's recommendation alone gives legal protection. The county card (up to $100) only adds a sales-tax exemption. | $0 source | No state wait source | 1 yr source | Doctor decides source | Not specified | |
| 3 | Maine | $0 source | No state wait source | 1 yr source | Doctor decides source | Not specified | |
| 5 | Louisiana | $0 source | No state wait source | - source | List + doctor discretion source | Allowed source | |
| 6 | Massachusetts | $0 source | up to 21 days source | 1 yr source | List + doctor discretion source | Allowed source | |
| 7 | Minnesota | $0 source | up to 30 days source | 3 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Allowed source | |
| 8 | Hawaii | $38.50 source | up to 7 days source | 2 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Allowed source | |
| 9 | Maryland | $0 source | Not published source | 6 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 10 | Ohio | $0 source | Not published source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 11 | Missouri | $9.64 $28.92 per 3 yrs source | up to 30 days source | 3 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 12 | Georgia | $6 $30 per 5 yrs source | up to 14 days source | 5 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 13 | Oklahoma | $50 $100 per 2 yrs source | up to 20 days source | 2 yrs source | Doctor decides source | Not specified | |
| 14 | Connecticut | $0 source | up to 42 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 15 | North Dakota | $20 $40 per 2 yrs source | up to 28 days source | 2 yrs source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 16 | New Jersey | $0 source | Not published source | 2 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 17 | Montana | $20 source | up to 35 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 18 | Michigan | $20 $40 per 2 yrs source | up to 21 days source | 2 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 19 | Rhode Island | $0 source | up to 40 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 19 | New Hampshire | $50 source | up to 20 days source | 3 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 21 | Alaska | $25 source | Not published source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 22 | New Mexico | $0 source | up to 37 days source | 3 yrs source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 22 | Mississippi | $25 source | up to 15 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 22 | Utah | Varies source | up to 15 days source | 1 yr source | List + doctor discretion source | In person only source | |
| 22 | Washington | Varies source | Not published source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 26 | Arkansas | $50 source | up to 14 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified source | |
| 26 | Florida | $75 source | up to 14 days source | 1 yr source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 28 | Vermont | $16.67 $50 per 3 yrs source | up to 30 days source | 3 yrs source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 28 | South Dakota | $75 source | up to 20 days source | 1 yr source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 30 | Pennsylvania | $50 source | up to 21 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 31 | Nevada | $50 source | Not published source | 2 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 32 | Kentucky | $25 source | up to 35 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 33 | Colorado | $52 source | up to 35 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 33 | Arizona | $75 $150 per 2 yrs source | up to 15 days source | 2 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 35 | Alabama | $40 source | Not published source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 35 | Delaware | $50 source | up to 75 days source | 3 yrs source | List + doctor discretion source | Not specified | |
| 37 | West Virginia | $50 source | up to 30 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | In person only source | |
| 38 | Iowa | $100 source | Not published source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Allowed source | |
| 39 | Illinois | $50 source | up to 57 days source | 3 yrs source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 40 | Oregon | $200 source | up to 35 days source | 1 yr source | Fixed list source | Not specified | |
| 41 | Texas Low-THC program only: a registered doctor enters the patient in the state registry (CURT), which works like a card, for listed conditions including chronic pain and PTSD. No state fee. Products are capped at 10 mg THC per dose. source | Low-THC only | $0 source | No state wait source | - source | Fixed list source | Not specified |
| 42 | Nebraska Medical cannabis is legal under the 2024 ballot law, but no dispensary is licensed yet and there is no state card or registry. source | No dispensaries yet | $0 source | No state wait source | 2 yrs source | Doctor decides source | Not specified |
| 43 | Kansas | CBD oil only | Claire and Lola's Law gives a legal defense for CBD preparations with THC up to 5% of the CBD content. No cards, no dispensaries. source | ||||
| 43 | Tennessee | CBD oil only | Cannabis oil with less than 0.9% THC is allowed only for patients with intractable seizures diagnosed by a Tennessee physician. No dispensaries. source | ||||
| 43 | Wisconsin | CBD oil only | People with a physician's certification for a medical condition may possess a CBD product. No THC products, no cards, no dispensaries. source | ||||
| 43 | Wyoming | CBD oil only | Residents with intractable epilepsy, certified by a neurologist, may possess hemp extract with under 0.3% THC and at least 5% CBD. No broader program. source | ||||
| 47 | Idaho | No program | No medical cannabis program. Only an FDA-approved CBD drug with no more than 0.1% THC is excluded from the state's marijuana definition. source | ||||
| 47 | Indiana | No program | No medical cannabis program. Hemp extract with no more than 0.3% THC is legal for everyone; there is no medical card and no dispensaries. source | ||||
| 47 | North Carolina | No program | No medical cannabis program. The Compassionate Care Act (H1011) has not passed. source | ||||
| 47 | South Carolina | No program | No medical cannabis program. The Compassionate Care Act (S.53) has not passed. source | ||||
Below the scored states: Low-THC only, #41: Texas. No dispensaries yet, #42: Nebraska. CBD oil only, #43: Kansas, Tennessee, Wisconsin and Wyoming. No program, #47: Idaho, Indiana, North Carolina and South Carolina. States in the same group share a rank.
How the score works
Each state gets up to 100 points from four parts. We publish the weights so you can check or redo the math with the CSV.
- Cost, 35 points. The state registration fee converted to a yearly amount. No fee earns all 35; $100 a year or more earns none. The doctor's evaluation fee is not included because it depends on the clinic, not the state.
- Wait, 25 points. The longest wait the state rule or agency allows for issuing the card. No state wait earns all 25; 60 days or more earns none. Business days are converted to calendar days.
- Qualifying conditions, 25 points. 25 when the doctor decides, 17 for a list plus doctor discretion, 8 for a fixed list.
- First visit by video, 15 points. 15 when the rules allow it, none when they require an in-person exam.
Where a state card is optional and a doctor's recommendation alone gives legal protection (as in California), or the state issues no card at all, there is no state fee and no state wait, so both parts get full points.
Only full medical programs get a score. States whose law allows less rank after all of them, in this order: low-THC products only, a law with no licensed dispensaries yet, CBD oil only, no program. A $0 fee and no wait mean little when there is almost nothing to buy, so scoring them next to full programs would put them above states like Florida.
When a state does not publish a number (some agencies set no deadline, some fees are set by counties), that part gets half its points, so silence neither helps nor hurts. States with tied scores share a rank.
Every value comes from the state's own law, regulation or agency page, checked by our team between August 24 and October 8, 2026. Rules change; if you spot an outdated number, tell us and we will fix it in the next edition. This is a reference guide, not legal or medical advice.
Use this data
Journalists, researchers and bloggers can use the index for free. Please link to this page when you cite it (CC BY 4.0).
Questions people ask
Which state makes it easiest to get a medical marijuana card?
New York and Virginia scored highest (100 of 100): no state fee, no state waiting period, the doctor decides which conditions qualify, and the first visit can happen by video.
Which states charge nothing for a medical marijuana card?
13 states charge no state fee: California, Connecticut, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island and Virginia. You still pay the doctor for the evaluation.
Where do you have to see a doctor in person?
In Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, New Mexico, Utah, Vermont and West Virginia the first certification visit has to be in person, according to the state rules we checked.
















